Highlight Of My Day!

This week I have been attending a photography workshop on creating a Fine Art Book. Yes, I am capitalizing those three words. What I am learning is beyond just printing up a book of pictures. Oh yah! Streeeeeeetch! Do you hear my brain stretching? It is…

We are meeting at the Pacific Rim Institute for Environmental Stewardship in Coupeville. Today I went into the office to inquire about the stewardship of this 179 acres in the center of Whidbey Island. To my amazement, I discovered that the tree I had noticed out by the road with the exotic cones is a Cedar of Lebanon.

This may or may not mean anything to you. If you have ever read the Old Testament, you know that the Cedars of Lebanon are renown. They grow tall and lofty. Their spread equals their height. They were used to build Solomon’s Temple. Actually, the whole economy of the Middle East flourished because of these magnificent forests that created their own eco systems.

I have researched them for teaching and was always so disappointed in the pictures I found on line. I regretted not looking for some when we visited Turkey. You can imagine how delighted I was to find one almost in my backyard–well a ferry boat and a pleasant drive away, but still near.

Please enjoy the images of this marvelous species. If you have any ideas on how to propagate seedlings. Let the institute know. They are interested but have observed no little guys popping up below big mama.

Cedars of Lebanon-3

To the left is a Sequoia. You can almost see the house!

Cedars of Lebanon-2

Looking up into the tree I was very glad I now own a very wide angle lens, the Fuji 10-24mm.

Cedars of Lebanon

Elegant cones remind me of the street vendors in Turkey who carve off the big leg of lamb that is impaled on a rotisserie spindle. Looks very similar.

Cedars of Lebanon-4 Cedars of Lebanon-5

Marlee Huber ~ For Your Flourishing Life!

About Your Flourishing Life

As a child, Marlee Huber loved to ramble through gardens sampling juicy berries and delighting in the heady fragrance of roses. As an adult, she thrills at maintaining a country garden in the foothills of the Washington Cascades. Something happened in 2012 that changed everything for Marlee. She followed the love of her life as he bicycled across the continent from their home in the NW to his brother's home in the Virginia. Ninety days later she came home and has never been the same. After photographing the backroads and hamlets across America--all on auto, she came home and took an online photography course, read dozens of books on technique and vision and stepped out into a new career. Her passion is coaching young people to discover their brilliance. She calls it Life-Themes Coaching and during one nearly half-day session, she unpacks what makes you brilliant and one of a kind. Then she matches the discoveries with a photography session where she tells the story of your life with her camera. In her personal life, she is a wife, mother, and grandmother delighting in her flourishing family!
This entry was posted in Flourishing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Highlight Of My Day!

  1. Sherie McBride says:

    Beautiful Marlee!

Leave a comment